MMA Root

Alexa Grasso vs. Joanne Wood, Multiple Other Bouts Confirmed for UFC Columbus – MMA Root



Alexa Grasso vs. Joanne Wood, Multiple Other Bouts Confirmed for UFC Columbus

A women’s flyweight clash with Alexa Grasso and Joanne Wood is one of the many additions to the upcoming Ultimate Fighting Championships in Columbus, Ohio, on March 26.

Promoters on Wednesday announced Grasso vs. Wood along with the following bouts: Sara McMann vs. Karol Rosa in bantamweight; Matheus Nicolau vs. David Dvorak in flyweight. Lerone Murphy vs. Nate Landwehr in featherwehr and Aliaskhab Khizriev vs. Abusupiyan Magomedov in midfield.

UFC Fight Night takes place at the Nationwide Arena and stars a lightweight tilt between Jan Blachowicz and Aleksandar Rakic. According to an announcement, the entire card will be broadcast on ESPN and ESPN +, with the qualifiers starting at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT and the main draw to start at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT.

Grasso and Wood were originally scheduled to meet on November 20, but Grasso withdrew from the competition for unknown reasons. The Lobo Gym MMA representative is currently on a two-game winning streak in the Octagon, with back-to-back victories over Ji Yeon Kim and Maycee Barber to her credit. Prior to that, Grasso was 3-3 during his tenure in six 115-pound UFC fights.

Wood, meanwhile, ended up falling to Taila Santos by submitting her first round to UFC Fight Night 198 on November 20 – her third defeat in four commercials. The 35-year-old native of Scotland last tasted victory at UFC 257, where she beat Jessica Eye in January 2021.

Watch Boxing & MMA Full Fight Videos in Telegram Channel Here