MMA Root

Anthony Pettis Out of PFL 4 Due to Illness; Alex Martinez Now Faces Natan Schulte – MMA Root

Anthony Pettis withdrew from PFL 4 after falling ill, which led to a remake of Thursday’s card.

Pettis’s original opponent, Alex Martinez, will overtake defending champion Nathan Schulte in PFL 4. Pettis, meanwhile, will remain part of the light season and face Raush Manfio on June 25.

AgFight
was the first to report the news of Pettis’ departure and new fights.

Schulte was ready to face Manfio, his friend and training partner in the American Top Team, after Schulte’s original enemy, Mikhail Odintsov, withdrew from PFL 4 due to injury. Schulte must win against Martinez to win a place in the PFL playoffs after falling to Marcin Held by unanimous decision in PFL 1.

After winning the decision for Loik Radzhabov in PFL 1, Martinez can win the playoffs with a victory over Schulte on Thursday.

PFL 4 takes place at Ocean Casino Resort in Atlantic City, New York and leads a minor women’s clash between Claressa Shields and Brittney Elkin. The main card is shown on ESPN2 at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT after preliminary on ESPN + at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT.

Add comment