News

Valerie Loureda, Cody Law Among Additions to Bellator 271 Preliminary Lineup – MMA Root

Valerie Loureda, Cody Law Among Additions to Bellator 271 Preliminary Lineup

Valerie Loureda and Cody Law are among those who will compete in the Bellator 271 preliminary card.

The California-based bid on Wednesday announced the following five qualifying matches: Loureda vs. Taylor Turner in flyweight. Law vs. Colton Hamm at featherweight; Bruna Ellen vs. Desiree Yanez in flyweight; Roman Faraldo vs. Robert Turnquest in middleweight and Jordan Newman vs. Shane O’Shea in midfield.

Bellator 271 takes place at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood, Florida, on November 12 and stars in a female title race between Cristiane Justino and Sinead Kavanagh. The main card is shown on Showtime at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT, while the prelims are broadcast at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT on Bellator MMA YouTube, Showtime Sports on YouTube and Pluto TV.

A black taekwondo belt trained in the American Top Team, Loureda began her professional MMA career with three consecutive triumphs under the Bellator banner. On her last outing, however, the 23-year-old testified unanimously against Hannah Guy at Bellator 259 on May 21.

Turner ‘s 5-7 career includes two appearances at Bellator. The 38-year-old stopped Heather Hardy in the opening lap at Bellator 222 before losing in the first round TKO to Alejandra Lara at Bellator 225.

Law is a former NCAA Division II national wrestler at the University of Pittsburgh in Johnstown, who began his tenure at Bellator with four consecutive wins. Most recently, Law scored a first-round TKO against Theodore Macuka at Bellator 262.

Ham, meanwhile, holds a 4-3 record and comes from consecutive submission wins.